Nagoya castle was built in 1610 under the order of the Tokugawa Shogun. It was destroyed in 1945 during air-raid bombings in WWII. In 1959, the main donjon, the small donjon, the abutment bridge between the two, and the main gate were re-constructed in its original form in concrete. The interior of the main donjon is a museum on the history of the castle and life in Nagoya during ancient times.