Gyeongbokgung Palace 27

Gyeongbokgung Palace 26

Gyeongbokgung Palace 22e

In 1395, three years after the founding of the Joseon Dynasty by Yi Seong-gye, the new main palace, Gyeongbokgung was completed and the capital of the new dynasty was moved from Gaesong to Seoul (then known as Hanyang). The palace was destroyed by fire during the Japanese invasion of 1592 and was not reconstructed until 1868, the fifth year of King Gojong.

During the Japanese occupation, most of the palace was torn down, only a few buildings including Gyeonghoeru Pavilion and Gyeongbokgung Hall were left standing. An effort to fully restore Gyeongbokgung to its former glory has been ongoing since 1990. The colonial Government-General building was removed, making way for the full restoration of Heungryemun Gate to its original state. The royal quarters and the East Palace for the crown prince were also restored to their original state.

The first phase of the Gyeongbokgung restoration project is scheduled to be completed by 2009, by which 40% of all the original structures will have been restored.

— Information source: Entrance ticket to the Gyeongbokgung Palace

(Photos of Palace artefacts taken from a wall display in the underground walkway between the Palace and the Central Government Complex).

Advertisements