Graffito dated 9 April 1830

Graffito dated 9 April 1830

le-pont-du-gard-10

Plaque on the Pont du Gard structure

Cet aqueduc construit par les Romains pour conduire a Nimes les eaux de la fontaine d’Eure
Reparé par les Etats de Languedoc en MDCCII a été consolidé et restauré en MDCCCLV par les ordres de l’Empereur Napoleon III et par les soins du Ministre d’Etat
Ch Questel et Ch Laisné — Architectes

Nicolas Janberg’s Structurae: Pont du Gard: Historical Chronology

40 AD – 60 AD: Approximate period of construction which is estimated to have taken 15 years in total for the entire aqueduct and 5 years for the Pont du Gard. Built in the reign of the emperors Claudius and Nero.

1743 – 1745: Lower arches widened to accommodate road bridge under the authority of Henri Pitot.

1843 – 1850: Restoration by architects Questel and Laisné due to Prosper Mérimée’s interventions.

6 December 1985: Added to the World Heritage List of UNESCO.

Advertisements